Create a Destiny Account
CitationsPlagiarism/Piracy
Job Information
This is the "databases" page of the "East Valley Academy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

East Valley Academy   Tags: database, east valley academy, ebooks, scholarships, service learning  

A guide to resources available at EVA for students, parents and community.
Last Updated: Nov 8, 2011 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/content.php?pid=102399 Print Guide RSS Updates

databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Know Your Resources

 Accurate, current, and appropriate information are valuable commodities.  Be a discriminate consumer of information!  If you are not confident that the information you have retrieved is the best information for your purpose, ask a librarian for assistance.

When evaluating information ask yourself . . .

Authority:

       Who is the author? 

         What type of information is given about the author?  Position, Organizational affliliation, contact information?

      Is he/she an expert?

         Who is the publisher?  Are they reputable?

Accuracy:

Does the information presented seem accurate?  Are the facts verifiable?

Does the author cite the sources of information used in the document? Are those sources verifiable?

Objectivity:

Is this fact or opinion?

Is the information biased in any way?

What kind of sites does this one link to? 

Who is the intended audience? Determine the aim of the author or organization publishing the site.

Is it an advertisement for a product or service?   

Is it for political purposes?  Is it trying to sway public opinion on a social issue?

Currency:

Is the information up to date?

Is the information current enough for your research?

Has the information been updated?  Are the resources used and information provided by the author current?

Relevancy:

Is the information relevant to your research?

Would you quote information from this source?

                                                                               

 

Database Links

 Databases available through MPS:

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Online encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
  • Facts on File
    Online reference materials for schools and libraries. Specializes in core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, geography, health, and more.
  • ABC CLIO
    Collection of social studies resources.
  • EBSCO
    Integrated service that provides reference databases, subscription management, online journals, and more.
  • GALE
    Articles from all over the world from newspapers and Magazines.
 

Internet or Databases?

 What is the difference between the library's online Databases and Internet websites?

Here are some key differences between the two resources:

Databases:

  • ... work through the Internet, but are not Internet sites.
  • ... are published by reliable companies, like book publishers.
  • ... provide access to information, articles, and more.
  • ... use really flexible search methods.
  • ... are "free" .

Internet:

  • ... can have unreliable information.
  • ... valuable content (like magazine or newspaper articles) is not free.
  • ... has annoying pop-up ads, flashing banners, and advertisements.

 Why should you use databases?

  • ...because you need ARTICLES for a research paper.
  • ...because your teacher told you to use only SCHOLARLY material.
  • ...because you want FREE ACCESS to articles & e-books.
  • ...because the guides include car repair, consumer reports, legal forms, music & much more!
 

Websites

 Snag Learning

SnagLearning is dedicated to presenting high-quality documentary films as educational tools to ignite meaningful discussion within the learning community.

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip