Create a Destiny Account
CitationsPlagiarism/Piracy
Job Information
This is the "Service Learning" page of the "East Valley Academy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

East Valley Academy   Tags: database, east valley academy, ebooks, scholarships, service learning  

A guide to resources available at EVA for students, parents and community.
Last Updated: Nov 8, 2011 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/content.php?pid=102399 Print Guide RSS Updates

Service Learning Print Page
  Search: 
 

What Is Service Learning?

What Is Service Learning?

The Community Service Act of 1990 defines service-learning as:

“a method under which students or participants learn and develop through active participation in thoughtfully organized service that is conducted in and meets the needs of a community." (42 U.S. Code 12511)

 

Service Learning Club here Ms. Mayda Perez page or the Eva homepage.

                                 CANSTRUCTION

      
     

    Books and Articles on Service Learning

    Nickman N. (Re-)Learning To Care: Use of Service-Learning as an Early Professionalization Experience. American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education 1998;62(4):380-87. Available in the ERIC database in EBSCOhost.

    Bringle R, Hatcher J. Implementing Service Learning in Higher Education. Journal of Higher Education 1996;67(2):221-239. Available in the Academic Search Premier database in EBSCOhost.

    Eyler J. Reflection: Linking Service and Learning—Linking Students and Communities. Journal of Social Issues 2002;58(3):517-534. Available in the Academic Search Premier database in EBSCOhost.

    Seifer S. Service-Learning: Community-Campus Partnerships for Health Professions Education. Academic Medicine 1998;73(3):273-77. Available in the ERIC database in EBSCOhost.

    Giles Jr. D, Eyler J. The impact of a college community service laboratory on students' personal, social and cognitive. Journal of Adolescence  1994;17(4):327. Available in the Academic Search Premier database in EBSCOhost.

     Reflection Manual - Service-Learning This manual by Joseph McDonald and Alison Kunard from Newberry College is intended primarily as a “how to” guide.  It contains suggestions, activities, and assignments meant to assist in the integration and effective use of service-learning in college courses. 

     

     

    Hours

    Do you like helping others!  Then why not VOLUNTEER!

    Service Learning is a program worth checking out.

    Help others while you help yourself.  150 hours will get you a gold seal on your diploma.  300 hours and you can receive a scholarship with MCC.

    Service Learning is a pedagogical approach to teaching that empowers youth voices through experiences that tie curriculum and academic achievement to the real needs of a community. It lays a foundation on which our students build their lives and communities. 

    For more information check out this site.

    http://www.mpsaz.org/msl/ 

     

    Web Resources

    Learn & Serve America has information for organizations and individuals interested in getting involved in service learning.  

    Learn and Serve America's National Service-Learning Clearinghouse supports the service-learning community in higher education, kindergarten through grade twelve, community-based initiatives and tribal programs, and more.  The Higher Education area includes a “faculty toolkit” and other resources for getting started.

    The National Service-Learning Partnership is a network of members dedicated to advancing service-learning as a core part of every young person's education." A national network of people, the Web site includes teaching resources, tools, & best practices.

    The Big Dummy’s Guide to Service-Learning: 27 Simple Answers to Good Questions on:
    Faculty, Programmatic, Student, Administrative, & Non-Profit Issues

    Six Models of Service-Learning ("Pure," Discipline-Based, Problem-Based, Capstone Courses, Service Internships, Action Research).  From Campus Compact.

    Service-Learning Toolbox ("work pages and checklists to help you get started and keep you going"). From the Northwest Regional Educational Laboratory.

    Curriculum Tools for Service-Learning (Refection, Assessment, Civic Responsibility, and Syllabi) from the American Association of Community Colleges, Horizon Project.

    Sample Syllabi by Discipline from Campus Compact.

    Preparing the Syllabus from Campus Compact.

    Students Serve -- "The only organization of students giving grants to students" (for service-learning).

    Corporation for National and Community Service -- "... supporting the American culture of citizenship, service and responsibility. The Corporation is the nation’s largest grant maker supporting service and volunteering."

     

    CommunityScholarships

     

  • The Samuel Huntington Public Service Award
    "The Samuel Huntington Public Service Award provides a $10,000 stipend for a graduating college senior to pursue one year of public service anywhere in the world. The award allows recipients to engage in a meaningful public service activity for one year before proceeding on to graduate school or a career."
  • Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip