This is the "Resources" page of the "SS 57 - Economics Curriculum Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SS 57 - Economics Curriculum Resources   Tags: economics, economics curriculum, economics resources, social studies  

Lesson plans and classroom resources aligned to the Economics curriculum.
Last Updated: May 5, 2011 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/economicsresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resource Information

Globe and Books

Library Resources

MPS Library Resource Centers subscribe to several social studies databases. The LRC website provides links to all the databases. Your library specialist is always willing to provide instruction and assistance for you and your students.

  • Facts on File American History Online  
      
  • ABC-Clio American History
    ABC Clio--American History includes nearly 15,000 primary and secondary sources, including overview essays, biographies, government and court documents, photos, maps, audio/video clips, statistics, and more. Over 100 topical overviews and nearly 3,300 biographies of famous political and military figures.
  • EBSCO Biography Reference Center
    EBSCOhost--Biography Reference Center™ offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.

Resources

  • Analysis Online
    Analysis Online, a service of The Communications Institute, is dedicated to providing objective, non-partisan analysis from many of the nation's leading academic and research institutions with a focus on economics, science, and engineering. This website is a great resource for teachers who need newsclippings or analysis on the hot topics of the day.
  • AZLibrary
    Under School Resources: resources for young arizonas, teacher resourses, ebsco, book collection, point of view reference center, student research center and so much more. . .
  • C-SPAN Video Library
    The archives, at C-SpanVideo.org, cover 23 years of history and five presidential administrations and are sure to provide new fodder for pundits and politicians alike. Provides free online access to the more than 160,000 hours of C-Span footage .
  • Council for Economic Education
    The Council for Economic Education offers comprehensive, best-in-class K-12 economic and personal finance education programs, including the basics of entrepreneurship, consisting of teaching resources across the curriculum, professional development for teachers, and nationally-normed assessment instruments.
  • Econ Ed Link
    EconEdLink is the leading source of online economic & personal finance lessons & resources for educators, students and afterschool providers.
  • Economic Education Web
    EcEdWeb, the Economic Education Web is your portal to economic education resources in all forms and at all levels through the University of Nebraska.
  • Editorial Cartoon Collection
    Editorial cartoonists loved Everett Dirksen (1896-1969)—his position of influence as Minority Leader in the Senate (1959-69), his way with words, and, of course, his distinctive appearance. Over the years, Senator Dirksen’s staff compiled a scrapbook containing more than 300 editorial cartoons. Includes chronological listings and lesson plans.
  • Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
    FREE makes it easier to find teaching and learning resources from the federal government. More than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies. New sites are added regularly.
  • Foundation for Economic Education
    FEE offers a comprehensive educational program to all students of liberty but with a special focus on high school and college students.
  • Foundation for Teaching Economics
    The Foundation for Teaching Economics is pleased to make available to teachers the content outlines, classroom activities, and teacher materials (demonstration videos and lecture presentations) for all of our residential, one-day, and online curricula.
  • GapMinder
    Building a fact-based world view, Gapminder is a non-profit foundation based in Stockholm. Our goal is to replace devastating myths with a fact-based world view. Our method is to make data easy to understand. We are dedicated to innovate and spread new methods to make global development understandable, free of charge, without advertising. We want to let teachers, journalists and everyone else continue to freely use our tools, videos and presentations.
  • It's No Laughing Matter: Analyzing Political Cartoons
    Cartoonists' persuasive techniques do. All cartoonists have access to a collection of tools that help them get their point across. Some of these techniques work "behind the scenes." You might not even notice them unless you know what you are looking for. In this activity, you'll get to take apart real-world cartoons--and learn how to spot the methods behind the message.
  • Library of Congress: The Teachers' Page
    Ready-to-use materials that bring the Library’s primary sources into the classroom.
  • newmoney.gov - Educational Games & Resources
    The U.S. government has developed the following educational tools to enhance the public's knowledge of redesigned U.S. currency. A variety of informative games and classroom materials, including an interactive quiz, lesson plans and bookmarks, are available for download.

  • Powell Center for Economic Literacy
    The Powell Center for Economic Literacy is a resource for teachers and students across the country, with lesson plans, curricula, and information on learning opportunities in the field of economics. The offerings of the Powell Center can be applied in any school environment, by teachers or administrators who are interested in improving students’ understanding of economics.
  • Scholastic: Technology Tools, Organizers, & Templates
    Features: Graphic Organizers, Rubric Maker, Flash Card Maker and Much More
  • The Story of Stuff
    The Story of Stuff Project was created by Annie Leonard to leverage and extend the film’s impact. We amplify public discourse on a series of environmental, social and economic concerns and facilitate the growing Story of Stuff community’s involvement in strategic efforts to build a more sustainable and just world.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip