This is the "Day One" page of the "Exploring Instructional Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Exploring Instructional Databases   Tags: databases, exploring_databases, instructional_databases, mps_databases  

Learn how to use MPS databases, online resources, ebooks, and much more. Also explore how to evaluate information critically and competently as well as effective search techniques.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/exploringinstructionaldatabases Print Guide RSS Updates

Day One Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Agenda

  1. Introductions

  2. CPS Quiz

  3. Explore MPS Libraries
  • Destiny & Destiny Quest
    • Create logins and learn how to search in Destiny & Destiny Quest
  • Creating Resource Lists
    • Learn how to create resource lists in Destiny & Destiny Quest

  • eBooks
    • Explore eBooks as a resource for instruction

        3.  Activity 1

      4.  Explore MPS Databases

  • Types of Reference Soruces (PPT)
  • Explore ways to use databases to teach students how to access information efficiently and effectively

  • Learn how to set up folders to collect information and resources

    • ABC Clio
    • Culture Grams
    • EBSCO
    • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    • Facts on File
    • Global Issues

           5.  Activity 2

Resources

  • Destiny / Destiny Quest
    Search your schools library catalog, create resource lists and view eBooks.
  • MPS Databases
    Portal to MPS Databases and online resources.
  • ABC Clio
    Social Studies Database
  • CultureGrams
    Concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations.
  • EBSCO
    Extensive periodical database that includes EBSCOhost, Student Research Center, KidsSearch, Searchasaurus, Auto Repair, Biography, Consumer Health Complete, Do It Yourself, Literary Ref. Center, Points of View, and NoveList Provided by: AZ State Library, Archives
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    Online encyclopedia. Search elementary, middle school and high school databases.
  • Facts on File
    Print and online reference materials database which includes American History Online, Modern World History, Ancient and Medieval History, World Atlas, Science Online, Today's Science, Issues and Controversies, and Curriculum Resource Center, Jr. Edition.
  • Global Issues
    Electronic resource offering global news and perspectives on issues, topics and events of international importance
 

CPS Quiz

Before we start we will take a short quiz about technology use in your classroom.  Open the quiz and use your clicker to respond to the questions.

 

Actiity 1

Create a Destiny/Destiny Quest login - user name and password.

Create a resource list in Destiny/Destiny Quest, add at least 3 resources to list.

Explore eBooks, add at least one eBook to your resource list.

 

Activity 2

Work with a partner to explore three databases appropriate to the grade level and content area you teach.  Fill in the information on the chart and be prepared to choose one to present to the class.

Tutorials

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip