An introduction to the basics of building a LibGuide to help students focus their research and target the most appropriate resources.
Last Updated: May 23, 2013
Review Library Resources
Log in & Create New Guide
- Create a new account and learn how to start a new guide
- Log-in - Dashboard
- Edit My Account / Customize Profile
- Dashboard - Create New Guide
Introduce Page Basics
- Learn the basics of building a LibGuide
- New Page - Title & Description
- Add New Box / Types of Boxes
- Text boxes
- Links and Lists
- Simple Web Links
- Link Options
- Docs and Files box
- Destiny / Destiny Quest
Search your schools library catalog, create resource lists and view eBooks.
- MPS Databases
Portal to MPS Databases and online resources.
- ABC Clio
Social Studies Database
Concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations.
Extensive periodical database that includes EBSCOhost, Student Research Center, KidsSearch, Searchasaurus, Auto Repair, Biography, Consumer Health Complete, Do It Yourself, Literary Ref. Center, Points of View, and NoveList Provided by: AZ State Library, Archives
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Online encyclopedia. Search elementary, middle school and high school databases.
- Facts on File
Print and online reference materials database which includes American History Online, Modern World History, Ancient and Medieval History, World Atlas, Science Online, Today's Science, Issues and Controversies, and Curriculum Resource Center, Jr. Edition.
- Global Issues
Electronic resource offering global news and perspectives on issues, topics and events of international importance
Thousands of videos in all subject areas. Includes full length and video segments.
- NBC Learn
NBC Learn K-12 is a collection of NBC News videos, primary source documents, images, and resources specifically designed for use in the K-12 classroom.
Day 1 - Complete the following:
- Decide on guide topic
- Create log in
- Customize Profile
- Create New Guide
- Add a new page/tab
- Add at least 2 types of boxes
- Find library resources to support topic/project