EBSCOFacts on FileGale-Global IssuesGoogle docsDrop Box
This is the "EBSCO" page of the "Orientation to the Mountain View Media Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Orientation to the Mountain View Media Center   Tags: covert, library, orientation, research  

This guide is designed to help students and teachers make the most of the resources available to them through the Media Center and MPS Databases.
Last Updated: Dec 19, 2012 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/mountainview Print Guide RSS Updates

EBSCO Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Set up a folder in EBSCO

 

Through the Library Resource Center go to the Database tab, select EBSCO then one of the databases, on the toolbar at the top click on Sign In

 

 

 

 Click on Create a new Account

             

 

 Complete form then Submit.  Suggestuib: Use your e-mail address as your username as the other databases requie it.  Write down your passwork and keep it in a salfe place, no one but you has this information. 

 

 

Now you may Sign IN 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Using the Folder

The Folder

As you add items to the folder, you can click the Folder link to review items have been added.

You can store all of the following to your folder: search result items, persistent links to searches, saved searches, search alerts, journal alerts, and web pages.

Folder Screen

From the folder you can then print, e-mail or save multiple results at the same time. If you have signed in to your personal account, any items you collect in your folder are automatically saved at the end of the session. If you have not signed in to your personal account and you end your session, or it times out due to inactivity, the folder is automatically cleared.

By default, items in the folder are sorted by article name. You can use the Sort By: Date option present folder items by date (in descending order).

Note: Your library administrator decides whether the personal account feature is available.

Custom Folders

SRC allows you to create custom folders in your personal folder area. Using custom folders you can better manage and access items saved to your personal folder area by organizing items according to topic, project, class, etc. Custom folders can contain Kids Search items (articles, images, search alerts, etc) or custom sub-folders.

Custom Folder Screen

You can create as many custom folders as you require. After a folder is created, you can rename or move the folder. If you move a folder, all contents of the folder are moved along with it (items and sub-folders).

Notes:

  • Before using the custom folders feature, you must log in to your SRC personal account. Your library administrator decides whether the personal account feature is available.

  • Only three levels of sub-folders nested within a folder are allowed. Folders created more than four levels deep (a top-level folder plus three sub-folders) are displayed at level four.
 

Managing Custom Folders

Before beginning any of the procedures in this Help topic, ensure that you are logged in to My Student Research Center and then click the Folder link located at the top right of the screen.

Note: If you do not see the My Custom link on the My Folder screen, you are not logged in to your Student Research Center personal account.


To create a folder:

Click the New link to the right of the My Custom link. Student Research Center displays the Create New Folder screen.

In the Folder Name field, enter a name for the folder; up to 40 characters.

If custom folders already exist in your folder area, do one of the following:

  • If you want the folder to be positioned at the top level of the custom folders, do not select an existing custom folder name in the Move Folder To dropdown list box.
  • If you want to position the folder within an existing custom folder, select an entry in the Move Folder To dropdown list box.

Use the Notes field to enter information about the folder; up to 200 characters. (This field is optional.)

Click the Save button. Student Research Center creates the new folder and refreshes the Folder screen.

To move items to a custom folder:

Click the folder that contains the items you want to move.

Note: If you do not see the contents of the folder, click the plus sign (+) to the left of the folder name to expand the folder.

Click to select the folder location that contains the items you want to move. For example, Articles, Journal Alerts, or Images. Student Research Center displays the items of that type contained in the selected folder.

Mark the check box to the left of the items that you want to move. (For example individual articles, images, videos, etc.)

Note: To select all items in the folder, mark the check box labeled Select All.

Click the Move To dropdown list and then select the folder to which you want to move the items (the “target” folder). Student Research Center moves the selected items to the target folder and then refreshes the current folder list of items.

To copy items to a custom folder:

Click the folder that contains the items you want to copy.

Note: If you do not see the contents of the folder, click the plus sign (+) to the left of the folder name to expand the folder.

Click to select the folder location that contains the items you want to copy. For example, Articles, Journal Alerts, or Images. Student Research Center displays the items of that type contained in the selected folder.

Mark the check box to the left of the items that you want to copy. (For example individual articles, images, videos, etc.)

Note: To select all items in the folder, mark the check box labeled Select All.

Click the Copy To dropdown list and then select the folder to which you want to copy the items (the “target” folder). Student Research Center copies the selected items to the target folder and then refreshes the current folder list of items.


To remove items from a folder:

Click the folder that contains the items you want to remove from the folder.

Note: If you do not see the contents of the folder, click the plus sign (+) to the left of the folder name to expand the folder.

Click to select the folder location that contains the items you want to remove. For example, Articles, Journal Alerts, or Images. Student Research Center displays the items of that type contained in the selected folder.

Mark the check box to the left of the items that you want to remove. (For example individual articles, images, videos, etc.)

Note: To select all items in the folder, mark the check box labeled Select All.

Click Delete Items to remove the selected items from the folder.

Student Research Center removes the selected items from the folder and then refreshes the current folder list of items.


To move a custom folder and its contents to another folder:

Click the custom folder that you want to move. Student Research Center displays the Edit Folder screen for the selected folder.

Click the Move Folder To dropdown list box and then select the folder to which you want to move the folder (the “target” folder).

Click the Save button. Student Research Center moves the selected folder it its contents to the target folder and refreshes the Folder screen.


To rename a custom folder:

Click the custom folder that you want to rename. Student Research Center displays the Edit Folder screen for the selected folder.

In the Folder Name field, enter the new name for the folder; up to 40 characters.

Click the Save button. Student Research Center renames the folder and refreshes the Folder screen.

Note: The default folder (My Folder) cannot be renamed.


To delete a custom folder:

Click the custom folder you want to delete. Student Research Center displays the Edit Folder screen for the selected folder.

Click the Delete Folder button. Student Research Center displays a message prompting you to confirm the deletion of the folder.

Click OK. The folder and its contents are removed from the folder area. Student Research Center refreshes the Folder screen.

Note: The default folder (My Folder) cannot be deleted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip