Google docsEBSCODrop BoxFacts on FileGale-Global Issues
This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Orientation to the Taylor Jr. High Media Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Orientation to the Taylor Jr. High Media Center   Tags: brown, library, orientation, research, taylor  

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/taylor Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Library Resources

Your Library Resource Center has many resources you will want to use in your LibGuide.  See the boxes to the right to learn how to link to a library search or one of the many databases MPS has to offer.

 

Database Search Tools

  

 

Research databases

Databases Links

 Databases available through MPS:

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Online encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
  • Facts on File
    Online reference materials for schools and libraries. Specializes in core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, geography, health, and more.
  • ABC CLIO
    Collection of social studies resources.
  • EBSCO
    Integrated service that provides reference databases, subscription management, online journals, and more.
  • GALE
    Articles from all over the world from newspapers and Magazines.

  Copyright Information

 

Library Books

Books

 

books

Books cover virtually any topic, fact or fiction. For research purposes, you will probably be looking for books that synthesize all the information on one topic.

A few books are now available electronically on the Internet (e-books) and are purchased by your library.

 

Databases

 Databases 

 Databases contain articles taken from books, encyclopedias, magazines, websites, newcasts and other information formats. The databases offer you current, accurate, unbiased, reviewed information. Most databases give you citation information in MLA format and others. There are two important databases; article and subject.

An Article Database

Article databases (also called periodical databases) include the citations, abstracts or brief summaries, and full text of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. An example of an article database that is available through the Library Resource website is EBSCO.

Subject Oriented Databases

Rather than build one massive, centralized database, most companies are building numerous subject-oriented databases. Examples of a few subject databases available through the Library Resource website are Facts on File, American History Online, or Science Online.

Encyclopedias


encyclopediasEncyclopedias contain factual articles on many subjects.

There are two types of encyclopedias -- general and subject. General encyclopedias provide overviews on a wide variety of topics. Subject encyclopedias contain entries focusing on one field of study.

 

Use an Encyclopedia

  • when looking for background information on a topic
  • when trying to find key ideas, important dates or concepts

*Note:  All databases are available through the Library Services web site.

 

  Tips For Evaluating Resources

Accurate, current, and appropriate information are valuable commodities.  Be a discriminate consumer of information!  If you are not confident that the information you have retrieved is the best information for your purpose, ask a librarian for assistance.

When evaluating information ask yourself . . .

Authority:

Who is the author? 

What type of information is given about the author?  Position, Organizational affliliation, contact information?

Is he/she an expert?

Who is the publisher?  Are they reputable?

Accuracy:

Does the information presented seem accurate?  Are the facts verifiable?

Does the author cite the sources of information used in the document? Are those sources verifiable?

Objectivity:

Is this fact or opinion?

Is the information biased in any way?

What kind of sites does this one link to? 

Who is the intended audience? Determine the aim of the author or organization publishing the site.

Is it an advertisement for a product or service?   

Is it for political purposes?  Is it trying to sway public opinion on a social issue?

Currency:

Is the information up to date?

Is the information current enough for your research?

Has the information been updated?  Are the resources used and information provided by the author current?

Relevancy:

Is the information relevant to your research?

Would you quote information from this source?

                                                                               

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip