Website Evaluation
Using Information
Google docsEBSCODrop BoxFacts on FileGale-Global Issues
This is the "Create Database Folders" page of the "Orientation to the Shepherd Media Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Orientation to the Shepherd Media Center   Tags: databases, destiny, dewey, ebooks, hanna, library, orientation, research  

An overview of the resources available to the students and teachers at the Shepherd Media Center.
Last Updated: May 13, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/shepherd Print Guide RSS Updates

Create Database Folders Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

 

Step by step instructions to set up folders in:

EBSCO

Facts on File

Gale-Global Issues

 

Important to Remember

Always LOG IN when you want to save in a folder. 

Always LOG OUT when you are finished. 

Otherwise, your articles will only be saved for that session and won't be there when you return later!

Saving Articles in Databases

 

Databases are the very best way to find quality articles.  MPS subscribes to dozens of databases on almost every topic and you'll have access to even more through the local libraries. Doing a search on the Web will not always take you to the best sources or allow you to access good scholarly information that you are expected to use for most high school level research.

While you are researching in databases, you might find several appropriate articles before choosing the ones you'll use for that particular assignment, especially if your research time in the library is limited.  How can you save those interesting articles without printing and wasting paper on every one?  Here's your answer!

Most online databases offer you the option of creating an account and saving your research in a folder.  This allows you to SAVE all your research (for years if you don't delete it) and return directly to your articles later.  Once you create an account, you will be able to use it anytime you search in that particular database.  And you can access it from home or school.

Use this libguide to learn how to do this in the three most often used databases.

 

 

 

 

More Ways to Save Your Work

Working on a group project? 

Want to save your work and access it without worrying about flash drives or blocked email accounts?

Try these two web-based, free sites!

Google docs

Drop Box

 

And in the Bookstore

For your convenience, the Shepherd Bookstore sells many school supplies, including 1 GB flashdrives.  Reasonably priced flashdrives are always a convenient and reliable way to save your data.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip