This is the "Databases/Books" page of the "How to Research Oceanography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Research Oceanography   Tags: bridges, hill, ocean, oceanography, research, science, vasquez  

Resources for teachers and students studying 4th-12th grade Oceanography.
Last Updated: Aug 3, 2010 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/oceanography Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases/Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Destiny Catalog from Home or School

Click here to link to the library catalog for your school to find books and ebooks available. Once you're at your schools Destiny page, click on the "Catalog" tab, enter your search terms, and click on "subject" or "keyword".

  • Destiny catalog from home or school
    Once at the page, select whether you're looking from home or at school.
  • Links to public libraries
    This takes you to the MPS Library Resources page. There you will find links to digital libraries, public libraries, and Destiny Quest. You may need to be a public library patron in order to access their catalogs.

Search Tips and Tools

Did you ever search on the Internet or a database and get millions of results? Or how about the search that says, "No results found"? It's very frustrating and can be quite discouraging. A few simple search tips can help you narrow your results to give you a more manageable amount or, broadening your search can help you get more results.

Search Tips

  • Start with a general search for terms you already know...fish, Indian Ocean, whales.
  • If that gives you too many results, you can use the "advanced search" feature and limit the original results by selecting different "limiters" that are offered.
  • Or, you can enter whole new search terms using new words you gathered from your search...blowfish, fish in the Indian Ocean, Baleen whales.
  • If you didn't get enough results, make you search more general. For example, don't search for "small food fish of the Indian Ocean", search for fish in the Indian Ocean.
  • Other suggestions: Use a thesaurus to find other terms you could use for your search
  • Use Boolean search terms to narrow your search.
  • Always remember that you can ask for help. It's why we're here!

Every database has its own rules for refining a search. Use the help buttons within the database to get help tips specific to that database.

See the file attached below for more tips.

Databases

Is there anything more frustrating in an assignment than selecting your topic and NOT being able to find any information on it? There maybe, but that's a huge obstacle to have to overcome. Check out our databases to see which marine life has information readily available.

 

Search Right From Here

Enter search terms (i.e. Pacific Ocean, sharks, coral reef, etc...) in one of the boxes to be taken right to articles about this topic.

 

 

 

Need Help?

If you have any difficulties, please feel free to ask your Resource Center Specialist for assistance.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip