Search Widgets
This is the "Day 1" page of the "Enhancing Instruction through LibGuides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Enhancing Instruction through LibGuides  

This class will focus on advanced features and Web 2.0 tools available when building LibGuides.
Last Updated: Jun 7, 2012 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/enhancinginstruction Print Guide RSS Updates

Day 1 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Agenda

  1.  Introductions

  3.  Customizing LibGuides

  • Learn how to customize your LibGuide by:

    • Adding sub pages
    • Copying pages
    • Copying boxes
    • Reorder pages
    • Reorder boxes
    • Resizing columns
    • Change layout colors
    • Edit boxes
  • Linking to eBooks

    Adding Video

  • Link to videos uploaded to an Architeck page
  • Link to videos from databases, Discovery Education, NASA, etc.
  • Embed videos from Teacher Tube, Natioanl Geographic, CBS or NBC News, etc.

 

        5.  Complete Assignment

     

    Linking to eBooks

    Follett Shelf
    Search for ebooks

    Infobase eBooks
    Jr. High & High School non-fiction eBooks

    Komodo Dragon

    Embeddable Video Sites

    • brightstorm.
      Thousands of free math and science videos. Covers Algebra 1 through Calculus, Biology, Physics, and Chemistry.
    • CBS News
      Video from CBS news and news magazine shows.
    • History.com
      Watch videos and full episodes on historical topics.
    • How Stuff Works
      Explains thousands of topics, from engines to lock-picking to ESP, with video and illustrations so you can learn how everything works.
    • NASA Video
      Collection from NASA video library.
    • National Geographic Video
      Free videos from National Geographic, featuring animal videos, weather videos, nature videos, world music videos and more.
    • National Geographic Kids Videos
      Hundreds of free videos from National Geographic Kids, featuring animals, weather, nature, world music, and much more.
    • National Science Foundation
      Find images and videos for most fundamental sciences and engineering.
    • PBS Video
      Award-winning national programming and locally produced shows are just a click away.
    • School Tube
      Provides educators and students a safe and fun video sharing environment to enhance their classrooms and learning experiences.
    • Teacher Tube
      An online community for sharing instructional videos.
    • Video on msnbc.com
      Video from MSNBC nightly news, news magazine shows, sports, etc.

    Resources

    • Adding Pages and Sub Pages
      How to add a page tab or a sub page under an existing tab.
    • Copying Pages
      How to copy a page from another guide and add it to your guide.
    • Copying Boxes
      How to copy a box from another page in your guide or from another guide in the system.
    • Reorder Pages
      How to move a page, tab, or sub page.
    • Reorder Boxes
      How to reorder boxes on a page or move them to another page.
    • Resize Columns
      How to change the number of columns on a page and/or adjust the widths of columns.
    • Layout Colors
      How to change the layout colors in your guide or individual boxes.
    • Embedding Video
      How to embed a video in a box.
     

    Assignment

    Day 1- Complete the following:

    1. Add one of the following to your guide:
      • Add a sub page
      • Copy a page from another guide

    2. Customize your guide in at least one of the following ways:
      • Reorder boxes
      • Reorder pages
      • Resize columns

    3. Customize your guide in at least one of the following ways:
      • Change layout colors
      • Edit boxes

    4. Link or embed a video to your guide

      Link to Video Sites

      • Discovery Education Streaming
        A growing library of over 5600 videos, 45,500 content specific clips, and more than 100,000 multimedia assets.
      • MPS Databases and Online Resources
        MPS Library Resources Database Portal includes links to the many databases subscribed to for students and teachers to easily access current and accurate information.
      • NBC Learn K-12
        Unique collection of video resources, primary source documents, historic footage, images, mini-documentaries, and text resources designed for use in the K-12 classroom.
      • You Tube for Schools
        Access thousands of high quality educational videos in a controlled environment.

      Embeddable Video Sites

      • brightstorm.
        Thousands of free math and science videos. Covers Algebra 1 through Calculus, Biology, Physics, and Chemistry.
      • History.com
        Watch videos and full episodes on historical topics.
      • National Geographic Video
        Free videos from National Geographic, featuring animal videos, weather videos, nature videos, world music videos and more.
      • National Geographic Kids Videos
        Hundreds of free videos from National Geographic Kids, featuring animals, weather, nature, world music, and much more.
      • National Science Foundation
        Find images and videos for most fundamental sciences and engineering.
      • PBS Video
        Award-winning national programming and locally produced shows are just a click away.
      • PBS Learning Media
        Easy, instant access to thousands of classroom-ready, digital resources.
      • School Tube
        Provides educators and students a safe and fun video sharing environment to enhance their classrooms and learning experiences.
      • Teacher Tube
        An online community for sharing instructional videos.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip