Google docsEBSCODrop BoxFacts on FileGale-Global Issues
Website Evaluation
Copyright Information
This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Orientation to Mesa High School Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Orientation to Mesa High School Library   Tags: center, high, kummerer, library, mesa, orientation, resource  

A guide to accessing the resources available to Mesa High School students and staff.
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/mesahigh Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases Links

     Databases available through MPS:

    • Facts on File
      Online reference materials for schools and libraries. Specializes in core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, geography, health, and more.
    • EBSCO
      Integrated service that provides reference databases, subscription management, online journals, and more.
    • GALE
      Articles from all over the world from newspapers and Magazines.
     

    Encyclopedias

    EncyclopediasEncyclopedias may be found in both traditional book versions and electronic versions in your library.

    Encyclopedias contain factual articles on many subjects.  There are two types of encyclopedias--general and subject.  General encyclopedias provide overviews on a wide variety of topics (e.g. World Book).  Subject encyclopedias contain entries focusing on one field of study (e.g. Encylcopedia of Mammals).

    Use an encyclopedia when looking for background information on a topic or when trying to find key ideas, important dates or concepts.

     

    Library Books

     

    books

    Books cover virtually any topic, fact or fiction. For research purposes, you will probably be looking for books that synthesize information on one topic.

    Many books are now available electronically on the Internet (e-books) and are purchased by your library.

     

    Databases

     Databases 

    Databases contain articles and information collected from books, encyclopedias, magazines, websites, newcasts and other information formats. Databases offer current, accurate, unbiased, reviewed information. Most databases give citation information in MLA format and others. There are two important database types -- article and subject.

    Article Databases

    Article databases (also called periodical databases) include the citations, abstracts or brief summaries, and full text articles from magazines, journals and newspapers. An example of an article database that is available through the Library Resource website is EBSCO.

    Subject Oriented Databases

    Rather than build one massive, centralized database, most companies are building numerous subject-oriented databases. Examples of subject databases available through the Library Resource website are Facts on File, American History Online, or Science Online.

    *Note:  All Mesa Public Schools databases are available through the Library Resources web site.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip