Dewey Decimal System
Website evaluationCitation Help
Drop BoxGoogle docsEBSCOFacts on FileGale-Global Issues
This is the "Creative Presentations" page of the "Orientation to Dobson High School Media Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Orientation to Dobson High School Media Center   Tags: carpenter, destiny, dobson, ebooks, library, media center, orientation, resource center  

This guide helps students and teachers have a better knowledge of the resources available in our Library
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2012 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/content.php?pid=210167 Print Guide RSS Updates

Creative Presentations Print Page
  Search: 
 

  Royalty Free Media Resouces

  • Archival Research Catalog  
    National Archives Database of various governmental and historical images, videos, sound bites. Be sure to check each resource's copyright statement.
  • Creative Commons Search  
    Search for images, video, sounds, and more.
  • Flickr  
    Be sure to select the Creative Commons option before searching! Use for photos or videos.
  • FreeFoto.com  
    "FreeFoto.com is the largest collection of free photographs on the Internet (link back and attribution required)."
  • Free Images  
    The only drawback is you have to join this site first.
  • Free Photographs  
    "An online resource for royalty-free stock photographs for non-commercial use."
  • Library of Congress Collection  
    Produced by the Library of Congress and mostly free. Be sure to check the copyright statement before using.
  • The Morgue File  
    "Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!"
  • Google LIFE Photo Archive  
    Images with copyright restrictions will have a note on the actual image.
  • Pics4Learning
    Thousands of copyright friendly images donated for students and teachers to use.

Some of these links are only available from non-MPS computers.

      
     

    Beyond the 5 Paragraph Essay

    In this, the 21st Century, students have so many options available to them.  We don't want them to feel limited to just the standard 5 paragraph essay. This page offers some different ideas for presentation mediums, links to assistance in creating them, as well as ideas on how to improve upon the old classics.  21st Century Learners think outside the box.

    Finding Great Images

    Not everyone has the opportunity to visit the places and things they're researching so that they can take great photos to use in their presentation. Here are links to help in finding images you can use in your presentations. Don't forget to cite your sources whenever necessary!

    • Google Images
      NOTE: can only be accessed from a non-MPS computer.
    • AltaVista Images
      Searchable with a "Family Filter" for whatever Oceanography topic you enter.
      NOTE: can only be accessed from a non-MPS computer.
    • National Geographic Image Archive
      A collection of images on a wide range of topics. There is a search window and a category search.

    Video Presentations using MS Movie Maker and iMovie

    There are many software programs available for purchase to make movies on your computer, BUT whether you have a Mac or a PC, all computers have some basic movie making capability installed right from the factory. Here are a couple of links to LibGuides that will help you learn to use iMovie and MS MovieMaker.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip