Dewey Decimal System
Website evaluationCitation Help
Drop BoxGoogle docsEBSCOFacts on FileGale-Global Issues
This is the "Save in Folders" page of the "Orientation to Dobson High School Media Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Orientation to Dobson High School Media Center   Tags: carpenter, destiny, dobson, ebooks, library, media center, orientation, resource center  

This guide helps students and teachers have a better knowledge of the resources available in our Library
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2012 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/content.php?pid=210167 Print Guide RSS Updates

Save in Folders Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

Step by step instructions to set up folders in:

EBCSO

Facts on File

Gale-Global Issues

 

Important to Remember

Always LOG IN when you want to save in a folder. 

Always LOG OUT when you are finished. 

Otherwise, your articles will only be saved for that session and won't be there when you return later!

  


Why make a folder?

 Databases are the very best way to find quality articles.  MPS subscribes to dozens of databases on almost every topic and you'll have access to even more through the local libraries. Doing a search on the Web will not always take you to the best sources or allow you to access good scholarly information that you are expected to use for most high school level research.

While you are researching in databases, you might find several appropriate articles before choosing the ones you'll use for that particular assignment, especially if your research time in the library is limited.  How can you save those interesting articles without printing and wasting paper on every one?  Here's your answer!

Most online databases offer you the option of creating an account and saving your research in a folder.  This allows you to SAVE all your research (for years if you don't delete it) and return directly to your articles later.  Once you create an account, you will be able to use it anytime you search in that particular database.  And you can access it from home or school.

Use this libguide to learn how to do this in the three most often used databases.

  


 

Suggestion

Use the same username and password for all database folder accounts.  Your username will be your e-mail address.  

 

  More Ways to Save Your Work

Working on a group project? 

Want to save your work and access it without worrying about flash drives or blocked email accounts?

Try these two web-based, free sites!

Google docs

Drop Box

 

Ebsco

The first step to finding relevant research articles is determining which databases are most useful for your topic.

A good starting place is Academic Search Complete (EBSCO database).  This is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with many Full Text articles.

  • Can limit to peer-reviewed journals
  • Can add other EBSCO databases to your search using the Choose Databases link at the top of the page.
  • Articles may be available in full text via HTML or PDF formats.
  • If there isn't a link to the full text, clicking on Find It will show availability of the journal at the AU Library or may provide a link to full text elsewhere.
  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip