Using Information
Google docsEBSCODrop BoxFacts on FileGale-Global Issues
Website Evaluation
This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Franklin at Alma Library Resource Center Orientation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Franklin at Alma Library Resource Center Orientation   Tags: citations, databases, destiny, ebooks, franklin at alma, library, orientation, resources, sievert  

A Quick Guide to resources available for Students, Parents and Teachers.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/content.php?pid=210923 Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

About Library Resources

Franklin at Alma Library Resource Center has many resources you will want to use in your research.  Use the link below to access your library, databases, podcasts and everything library.

 

 

Database Search Tools

  

 

 

Databases Links

 Databases available through MPS:

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Online encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
  • Facts on File
    Online reference materials for schools and libraries. Specializes in core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, geography, health, and more.
  • ABC CLIO
    Collection of social studies resources.
  • EBSCO
    Integrated service that provides reference databases, subscription management, online journals, and more.
  • GALE
    Articles from all over the world from newspapers and Magazines.
 

Library Books

Books

 

books

Books cover virtually any topic, fact or fiction. For research purposes, you will probably be looking for books that synthesizes all the information on one topic.

A few books are now available electronically on the Internet (e-books) and are purchased by your library.

 

Databases

         Databases Databases 

 Databases contain articles taken from books, encyclopedias, magazines, websites, newcasts and other information formats. The databases offer you current, accurate, unbiased, reviewed information. Most databases give you citation information in MLA format and others. There are two important databases; article and subject.

An Article Database

Article databases (also called periodical databases) include the citations, abstracts or brief summaries, and full text of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. An example of an article database that is available through the Library Resource website is EBSCO.

Subject Oriented Databases

Rather than build one massive, centralized database, most companies are building numerous subject-oriented databases. Examples of a few subject databases available through the Library Resource website are Facts on File, American History Online, or Science Online.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias


encyclopediasEncyclopedias contain factual articles on many subjects.

There are two types of encyclopedias -- general and subject. General encyclopedias provide overviews on a wide variety of topics. Subject encyclopedias contain entries focusing on one field of study.

 

Use an Encyclopedia

  • when looking for background information on a topic
  • when trying to find key ideas, important dates or concepts
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip