Guidelines at a GlancePlagiarism/Piracy
This is the "Databases" page of the "Webster Library Orientation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find out how to use your elementary library successfully!
Last Updated: May 17, 2011 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/Webster Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

MPS Databases

 

What is a database?

Databases contain information collected from books, encyclopedias, magazines, websites, newcasts and other information formats.           Databases offer current, accurate, and unbiased information. Most databases give citation information in MLA format and others. There
are two important database types -- article and subject. 

Article Databases

Article databases (also called periodical databases) include the           citations, brief summaries, and full text articles from magazines,        journals and newspapers. An example of an article
database that is available through the Library Resource website is EBSCO.

Subject Oriented Databases

Rather than build one massive, centralized database, most companies are creating numerous subject oriented databases. Examples of 
subject databases available through the Library Resource website are Facts on File, American History Online, or Culture Grams.

 

* If your having trouble logging in, please contact your teacher or  Resource Specialist.


 

 *Note:  All Mesa Public Schools databases are available through the Library Resources web site.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip