Syllabus
Bloom's Inquiry QuestionsCheck listsNote Card graphic organizerMain Idea graphic organizer
This is the "Citing Sources" page of the "Summit Academy - MYP Year 2 Humanities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Summit Academy - MYP Year 2 Humanities   Tags: alger, humanities, myp year 2 humanities, summit, summit academy  

Home page for Mrs. Alger's MYP Year 2 Humanities class with emphasis on historical research steps.
Last Updated: Apr 30, 2012 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/mypyear2humanities Print Guide RSS Updates

Citing Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Citing Sources

  • Noodle Tools
    Comprehensive MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turbian bibliography composer.
  • BibMe
    Automatic bibliography maker. Either searches for source and creates citation or allows you to input the information to create the citation.
  • Easy Bib
    Automatic bibliography and citation maker for MLA format.
  • IDEAL Citation Maker
    Complete fields with source information and create the citation in MLA or APA format.
  • Landmarks Son of Citation Machine
    Helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use.
  • Citing Sources MLA and APA Style
    Article on how to cite sources in MLA or APA format with examples citations for different types of sources.
 

Academic Honesty

A big part of being an independent learner and a successful student in the MYP is RESEARCH.  This means finding information for yourself, and using it in a way that is appropriate and honest.

You need to develop three basic skills this year:

1.   FINDING INFORMATION

By the end of this year, you should be able to…

  • Find texts in the school library using the search catalogue
  • Use search engines to find good sources on the internet
  • Tell the difference between good sources and bad sources of information

2.   USING INFORMATION

   By the end of this year, you should be able to…

  • Select small sections from a useful source and include them in your work
  • Convert text sources into original diagrams and vice-versa
  • Relate information from a source to others in audience-friendly language

3.   ACADEMIC HONESTY

   By the end of this year, you should be able to…

  • Complete a basic BIBLIOGRAPHY (MLA Style) or source list for each assessed task
  • Use quotation marks around sections of copied text
  • Put title and sources on all copied diagrams, images and charts

When we find information from another source, such as a book or a website, we are really only ‘borrowing’ it for the purpose of our assignment.  Someone else worked to produce that work, so we should respect that work by CITING it at the end of our piece of work.

How to Create a Bibliography

At the end of each piece of research-based work we complete, we must include an extra section called the BIBLIOGRAPHY.  Here we can cite (write down) all the sources of information we used to complete our task using the following format. 

NON-FICTION BOOK

Author’s Last name, First name. Title of the book. Place of publication: Publisher, Copyright.

WEB SITE/INTERNET

“On-line title of article”. Author’s name. http://address/filename : date of document or download date.

PRINT ENCYCLOPEDIA

Author’s last name, First name, “Title of article.” Name of encyclopedia. Volume, Page(s). Place of Publication: Publisher, Copyright.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip