Jackrabbit Binder
This is the "General Writing Help" page of the "Mrs. Tracy's ELA Courses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Explore the various units of Mrs. Tracy's Junior & Senior English classes, including literature, research, and writing.
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/mrstracymhs Print Guide RSS Updates

General Writing Help Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Deliver a GREAT Speech!

1. USE NOTES

Reading word for word is O, so boring!
 
Notes are a guide to make sure all the points are covered while still allowing room for uniqueness and personality.
 
point out the relevance of your topic.
 
speak extemporaneously!
 
2. CONTENT IS JUST AS IMPORTANT AS DELIVERY
•It's not enough just to have charismatic speaking skills-- you need to actually say something in a manner that effectively informs the audience!
3. CONSIDER VISUAL AIDS
 
•Nothing over-the-top or distracting!
 
4. DRESS PROFESSIONALLY
 
•People hear what they see
 
5. DELETE "FILLER" WORDS
 
•No "like"s or "um"s
 
6. SPEAK TO THE AUDIENCE
 
•Know the correct tone and voice for your target audience
 
7. WATCH BODY LANGUAGE!
 
•Don't stare at your feet, shuffle your feet, fidget with your pockets, etc.
 
8. ELIMINATE SPEECH ANXIETY
 
•Breathe! Focus on your purpose! Use your adrenaline!
 
9. PRACTICE! PRACTICE! PRACTICE!
 

Resources

 

Databases

 

Databases

Databases contain articles and information collected from books, encyclopedias, magazines, websites, newcasts and other information formats. Databases offer current, accurate, unbiased, reviewed information. Most databases give citation information in MLA format and others. There are two important database types -- article and subject.

Article Databases

Article databases (also called periodical databases) include the citations, abstracts or brief summaries, and full text articles from magazines, journals and newspapers. An example of an article database that is available through the Library Resource website is EBSCO.

Subject Oriented Databases

Rather than build one massive, centralized database, most companies are building numerous subject-oriented databases. Examples of subject databases available through the Library Resource website are Facts on File, American History Online, or Science Online.

*Note:  All Mesa Public Schools databases are available through the Library Resources web site.

Database Links

 Databases available through MPS:

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Online encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
  • Facts on File
    Online reference materials for schools and libraries. Specializes in core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, geography, health, and more.
  • EBSCO
    Integrated service that provides reference databases, subscription management, online journals, and more.
  • GALE
    Articles from all over the world from newspapers and Magazines.
 

Tips For Evaluating Resources

Accurate, current, and appropriate information are valuable commodities.  Be a discriminate consumer of information!  If you are not confident that the information you have retrieved is the best information for your purpose, ask a librarian for assistance.

When evaluating information ask yourself . . .

Authority:

Who is the author? 

What type of information is given about the author?  Position, Organizational affliliation, contact information?

Is he/she an expert?

Who is the publisher?  Are they reputable?

Accuracy:

Does the information presented seem accurate?  Are the facts verifiable?

Does the author cite the sources of information used in the document? Are those sources verifiable?

Objectivity:

Is this fact or opinion?

Is the information biased in any way?

What kind of sites does this one link to? 

Who is the intended audience? Determine the aim of the author or organization publishing the site.

Is it an advertisement for a product or service?   

Is it for political purposes?  Is it trying to sway public opinion on a social issue?

Currency:

Is the information up to date?

Is the information current enough for your research?

Has the information been updated?  Are the resources used and information provided by the author current?

Relevancy:

Is the information relevant to your research?

Would you quote information from this source?                                                                               

 

How to Quote a Source Within Your Text

Basic in-text citation rules

In MLA style, referring to the works of others in your text is done by using what is known as parenthetical citation. This method involves placing relevant source information in parentheses after a quote or a paraphrase.

In-text citations: Author-page style

MLA format follows the author-page method of in-text citation. This means that the author's last name and the page number(s) from which the quotation or paraphrase is taken must appear in the text, and a complete reference should appear on your Works Cited page. The author's name may appear either in the sentence itself or in parentheses following the quotation or paraphrase, but the page number(s) should always appear in the parentheses, not in the text of your sentence. For example:

Wordsworth stated that Romantic poetry was marked by a "spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings" (263). 

Romantic poetry is characterized by the "spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings" (Wordsworth 263).
Wordsworth extensively explored the role of emotion in the creative process (263).

Both citations in the examples above, (263) and (Wordsworth 263), tell readers that the information in the sentence can be located on page 263 of a work by an author named Wordsworth. If readers want more information about this source, they can turn to the Works Cited page, where, under the name of Wordsworth, they would find the following information:

Wordsworth, William. Lyrical Ballads. London: Oxford U.P., 1967. Print.

For more specific information, visit the Purdue OWL: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/2/

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip