This is the "Websites for Jazz in America" page of the "All That Jazz" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

All That Jazz   Tags: all_that_jazz, jazz  

A Research Project Guide
Last Updated: Jun 3, 2011 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/allthatjaz Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites for Jazz in America Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

All That Jazz

A lot of information is available about All That Jazz.  I have done some preliminary searching.  Now it is up to you to use the resources I have found to complete your research.  Begin with the websites.  Remember, you need two sources from this list.  Happy Researching!

 

My Top 5 Jazz Websites

The links below will take you to sites about Jazz.   Remember to CITE your sites as you research.  DO NOT wait until the end to collect citations for your Works Cited page.

Thelonius Monk Institute of Jazz
A jazz resource library complete with lesson plans for educators, audio clips, artist biographies, and digital images.

Jazz Kids
First, learn about the history of jazz and jazz musicians. Then, make your own music!

Jazz for Young People
Listen to and find out about Jazz at this site composed just for kids. Topics include improvisation, the Blues, Louis Armstrong, and Thelonious Monk, among others.

 

NPR Jazz
Includes music and book reviews, descriptions and schedules of jazz programming on National Public Radio, profiles of musicians, and expert recommendations from the NPR Basic Jazz Record Library. Profiles and recommendations include audio clips.

American Music Resource
AMR contains 800+ bibliographies, lists and text files about all styles of American music and related issues. The collection is indexed by subject-name (i.e. the last names of composers) or topic-name (e.g. Electro-acoustic music). Site is under development.
 

 

 

Help!

If you need assistance, please contact me using the link on the Home page.

 

More Jazz Websites

The links below will take you to even more sites about Jazz.  Remember to CITE your sites as you research.  DO NOT wait until the end to collect citations for your Works Cited page.

The Red Hot Jazz Archive
This jazz archive primarily focuses on music before 1930 and features artists like Benny Goodman, Coleman Hawkins, Gene Krupa, and Bessie Smith. Contents include artist biographies, audio files, video files and essays like "Billie Holiday’s Small Band Recordings of 1935-1939" and "The Young Sidney Bechet".

Smithsonian Jazz
Lesson resources for teaching jazz, from the Smithsonian Institute. Includes handouts and lesson plans, as well as jazz recording and oral histories from famous jazz musicians.

The Jazz Review
Everything you want to know about jazz, including reviews, biographies, photos, news, history, jazz radio stations, NetRadio jazz broadcasts, concerts, and a free monthly e-mail newsletter.

 

Downbeat
On-line version of one of the most venerable and trusted publications in jazz. Contains articles from the print version, features, record reviews and audio downloads.

All About Jazz 
This comprehensive site includes jazz news, reviews, festivals, interviews, audio downloads, photos, and biographies of over 3600 jazz musicians.

William P. Gottlieb: Photographs from the Golden Age of Jazz
"The William P. Gottlieb Collection, comprising over sixteen hundred photographs of celebrated jazz artists, documents the jazz scene from 1938 to 1948, primarily in New York City and Washington, D.C. This online collection presents Gottlieb's photographs, annotated contact prints, selected published prints, and related articles from Down Beat magazine."

Jazz Composers Collective
The Jazz Composers Collective is a musician-run, nonprofit organization that provides a forum for musician and and composers re: the development of new music. They also present concerts and publish a newsletter. The home page provides access to other jazz links, history, composers in residence, newsletters, press releases, projects and response forms.

A Great Day in Harlem

"Explore jazz history through one photograph" of 57 jazz musicians taken in Harlem in August 1958. Site includes a timeline on jazz history and biographies of jazz musicians browsable by artist, musical style, or instrument.

WNUR-FM JazzWeb
Jazz related information, including a hyper-map history of jazz, biographies, and upcoming live performances.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip