1. Text Boxes4. Link Options2. Links and Lists3. Simple Web Links5. RSS Feed6. Other Content Boxes
Adding Images from the WebAligning Text & Images
Help & More Info
This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Guide for LibGuide Authors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide for LibGuide Authors   Tags: authors, building_libguides, creating_libguides, libguides, library_services, sears  

This guide will show you how to create and publish a LibGuide for MPS.
Last Updated: May 31, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/creating_libguides Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Library Resources

Your Library Resource Center has many resources you will want to use in your LibGuide.  See the boxes to the right to learn how to link to a library search or one of the many databases MPS has to offer.

 

Library Books

You can help students find appropriate books in your school library through your LibGuide in two ways:

  1. Add a link to your school library and have student do a search (you may want to suggest search terms and/or criteria).
  1. Create a list of available print resources in Destiny and/or Destiny Quest and link to the list.  Click the link below for directions for creating Resource List
  • Example:    Note: You can link to words or graphic.

Databases

MPS has databases available for you and your students to use.  You can link to these databases in two ways:

  1. Link to the database portal and have your students do a search for their topic (you may want to suggest search terms and/or criteria).
  2. Do the search, copy the URL for the articli and link to the page with the information you want your students to access.  (Linking directions are found under Add/Edit Boxes, Link Options.)

    ** To link to a Facts on File article you will need to highlight the Record URL found at the bottom of the article, right click and select Copy Shortcut.  This is what you will paste in the URL field.
  • Recommendation:  Use a Links and Lists box so you can add a description of what you are linking to.

*Note:  All databases are available through the Library Services web site.

Databases available through MPS:

  • ABC CLIO
    Collection of social studies resources.
  • CultureGrams
    ProQuest--concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories plus a worldwide photo gallery.
  • Discovery Education
    9,000 full-length videos segmented into 71,000 content-specific clips tied directly to state and national standards.
  • EBSCO
    Integrated service that provides reference databases, subscription management, online journals, and more.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Online encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
  • Facts on File
    Online reference materials for schools and libraries. Specializes in core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, geography, health, and more.
  • Global Issues in Context
    Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip