This is the "Citations/Bibliography" page of the "National History Day!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

National History Day!   Tags: linoff, national_history_day  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2010 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/nationalhistoryday Print Guide RSS Updates

Citations/Bibliography Print Page
  Search: 
 

Citation Styles

National History Day projects require students credit all sources from which they gathered information. Acceptable citation styles include MLA and Turabian.

  • The OWL @ Purdue
    Provides a more in-depth description for creating MLA citations developed by the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University.
  • Turbian Citation Help
    Provides examples of appropriate Turabian format for several types of resources.
  • Turabian Quick Guide
    Provides a more in-depth guide for creating Turabian citations using Kate Turabian's "A Manual for Writers"

Citation Tools

NoodleTools is the Web's most comprehensive and accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian bibliography composer.

Use Noodle Bib Express to format your citations for books, electronic databases, images, websites, and everything in between. Each citation is created individually and must be exported to a word document.

Use Noodle Bib MLA Starter to create an entire bibliography in MLA format. Users can create and save multiple lists by setting up a user name and password. The lists can be accessed from any computer with Internet access.

BibMe Is an automatic bibliography maker that either searches for the book, article, website, or film and provides the citation or allows you to enter the citation information yourself.

Son of Citation Machine is an interactive web tool designed to assist students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties and to credit information sources. This site contains advertisements.

EasyBib is an automatic bibliography and citation maker for MLA format. Assistance with APA and Chicago/Turbian is available with a subscription. (Individual $9) Bibliography reference handouts are downloadable PDFs. This site contains advertisements.

 

Annotated Bibliography

pA bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, websites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "references" or "works cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation.

Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources used to develop the project. An annotation is normally 1-3 sentences.

All National History Day projects must include an annotated bibliography. The annotations for each source must explain the following:

  1. How the source was used? 
  2. How it helped the student understand the topic? 
  3. Why the source was categorized as primary or secondary?

    A primary source is original material or information that has not been interpreted by another person. Examples of primary sources are court records, government documents (like the Constitution), letters, some documentary films, memoirs, position papers of organizations, original research, and editorials. 
    A secondary source is made up of information collected from numerous primary sources that is interpreted by the collector. Examples of secondary sources include histories (such as a history of the Constitution and its framers), encyclopedia articles, many magazine articles, and critical analyses.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip