- American Centuries: History and Art from New England
Under School Resources: resources for young arizonas, teacher resourses, ebsco, book collection, point of view reference center, student research center and so much more. . .
- Best of History Websites
Best of History Web Sites contains links to over 1200 history-related web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness. Included are links to K-12 history lesson plans, teacher guides, activities, games, quizzes, and more. Sites with engaging educational content and stimulating and useful multimedia technologies are most likely to be included in these pages. However, useful general resources and research-oriented sites have been included as well.
- C-SPAN Video Library
The archives, at C-SpanVideo.org, cover 23 years of history and five presidential administrations and are sure to provide new fodder for pundits and politicians alike. Provides free online access to the more than 160,000 hours of C-Span footage .
- Congressional Timeline
For each Congress beginning with the 73rd (1933-35), this timeline features session dates, partisan composition, the presidential administration, a list of congressional leaders, and notable legislation passed.
- Editorial Cartoon Collection
Editorial cartoonists loved Everett Dirksen (1896-1969)—his position of influence as Minority Leader in the Senate (1959-69), his way with words, and, of course, his distinctive appearance. Over the years, Senator Dirksen’s staff compiled a scrapbook containing more than 300 editorial cartoons. Includes chronological listings and lesson plans.
- EL Civics for ESL Students
Learn EL Civics with great pictures and easy words. Just click on a picture to start a lesson or activity. The following EL Civics units are now available: Statue of Liberty, Washington, D.C., American Bald Eagle, Gateway Arch, and more. English Language Civics provides an easy way to learn about American history, geography, and culture. New lessons, worksheets, PowerPoint presentations, and videos are added to elcivics.com almost every week.
- Eyewitness: American Originals from the National Achives
- Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
FREE makes it easier to find teaching and learning resources from the federal government.
More than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies. New sites are added regularly.
- Food Timeline
Ever wonder what foods the Vikings ate when they set off to explore the new world? How Thomas Jefferson made his ice cream? What the pioneers cooked along the Oregon Trail? Who invented the potato chip...and why?
Welcome to the Food Timeline! Food history presents a fascinating buffet of popular lore and contradictory facts. Some people will tell you it's impossible to express this topic in exact timeline format. They are correct. Most foods we eat are not invented; they evolve.
- Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: Battlelines - Letters from American Wars
This online exhibition of letters and audio, created by the Gilder Lehrman Institute and the Legacy Project, features correspondence from over 200 years of American conflicts, ranging from the Revolution to the war in Iraq. This exhibition uses the words of famous generals and lesser-known troops, as well as parents, sweethearts, and children, to explore such themes as leaving home, life in the military, the pride and worries of those left behind, and ultimate sacrifice.
- Gilder Lehrman Teacher Resources
The Gilder Lehrman Institute offers a growing variety of resources to assist teachers and students. The Institute has pioneered new models of history schools and programs, with proven success in improving academic achievement. It offers professional development opportunities for educators, provides documents and exercises for classroom use, and encourages excellence in student writing with essay prizes.
- Gilder Lehrman: Modules on Major Topics In American History
The modules cover more than twenty topics that correspond to the major periods in American history and take into consideration the history standards, both required and advanced, to which high school students are held. Each module includes: a succinct historical overview, learning tools including lesson plans, quizzes, and activities, recommended documents, films, and historic images.
- It's No Laughing Matter: Analyzing Political Cartoons
Cartoonists' persuasive techniques do. All cartoonists have access to a collection of tools that help them get their point across. Some of these techniques work "behind the scenes." You might not even notice them unless you know what you are looking for. In this activity, you'll get to take apart real-world cartoons--and learn how to spot the methods behind the message.
- Library of Congress: The Teachers' Page
Ready-to-use materials that bring the Library’s primary sources into the classroom.
- National Archives - Document Analysis Worksheets
Teaching with primary documents encourages a varied learning environment for teachers and students alike. Lectures, demonstrations, analysis of documents, independent research, and group work become a gateway for research with historical records in ways that sharpen students' skills and enthusiasm for history, social studies, and the humanities.
- National Archives - Teaching with Documents
This section contains reproducible copies of primary documents from the holdings of the National Archives of the United States, teaching activities correlated to the National History Standards and National Standards for Civics and Government, and cross-curricular connections
- National Gallery of Art
Welcome to a place where teachers and students can connect art and curriculum.
Connect art and curriculum by borrowing free learning materials from the National Gallery of Art's Division of Education.
- National Geographic Kids - Videos
- National Geographic Xpeditions - Maps and Current Events
This lesson will help students realize the value of maps in illustrating important news topics other than weather forecasts. They'll brainstorm geographic questions for specific news stories and use an atlas along with National Geographic's MapMachine to help them find answers to these questions. They'll conclude by creating "map packages" to accompany additional news stories, including at least five maps that illustrate points and background information related to the story.
- Old Magazine Articles
It is a primary source website and is designed to serve as a reference for students, educators, authors, researchers, dabblers, dilettantes, hacks and the merely curious. The old articles, essays, poetry, cartoons and photographs that can be found on the site have all been collected from a number of different libraries, bookshops and yard sales throughout the United States and Europe.
- Our Story: American History Stories and Activities You Can Do Together
A project of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History, OurStory is designed to help children and adults enjoy exploring history together through children’s literature, everyday objects, and hands-on activities.
- Scholastic: Technology Tools, Organizers, & Templates
Features: Graphic Organizers, Rubric Maker, Flash Card Maker and Much More
- Smithsonian Education Lesson Plans
Browse lesson plans by subject area or search by grade levels and keywords. Smithsonian lesson plans emphasize inquiry-based learning using primary sources and museum collections. Each plan is print-friendly and provides you with all the materials you need—photographs, reproductions, handouts, activities, suggested strategies, standards information, and additional online resources.
- Smithsonian Education Resource Library Search
Use the search fields below to access more than 1,500 rich Smithsonian educational resources.
- Smithsonian Source: Resources for Teaching American History
Provides primary sources and teaching with primary sources on a variety of historical topics.
- Smithsonian: The Star Spangled Banner
On September 14, 1814, U.S. soldiers at Baltimore’s Fort McHenry raised a huge American flag to celebrate a crucial victory over British forces during the War of 1812. The sight of those “broad stripes and bright stars” inspired Francis Scott Key to write a song that eventually became the United States national anthem. Key’s words gave new significance to a national symbol and started a tradition through which generations of Americans have invested the flag with their own meanings and me