This is the "Images/Photos/Videos" page of the "Copyright Simplified for Students and Teachers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Copyright Simplified for Students and Teachers   Tags: copyright, copyright_simplified, copyright_students, copyright_teachers  

This guide will give students and teachers copyright information and guidelines for research and Internet publication.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/copyrightsimplified Print Guide RSS Updates

Images/Photos/Videos Print Page
  Search: 
 

Royalty Free Media Resouces

  • Archival Research Catalog
    National Archives Database of various governmental and historical images, videos, sound bites. Be sure to check each resource's copyright statement.
  • bigfoto.com
    Royalty free photo agency offering free download of all pictures.
  • Cepolina Phota
    Hosts free photos you can download for private or commercial use.
  • ClipArtGallery.com
    High quality clipart, graphics & photos.
  • Creative Commons
    Search for images, video, sounds, and more.
  • Creativity103.com
    Contains free abstract digital photos, backgrounds, and basic video clips ready for you to download and use.
  • Discovery Education Clip Art Gallery
    Choose from hundreds of original clip art pieces, including animations.
  • DK Clip Art
    Explore thousands of images from DK's picture library.
  • Explore
    A multimedia organization that documents leaders around the world who have devoted their lives to extraordinary causes.
  • Flickr
    Be sure to select the Creative Commons option before searching! Use for photos or videos.
  • FreeFoto.com
    Offers images that are free for on-line use, with higher quality versions available for sale.
  • Free Images
    A library of stock photography for use on websites, printed media, products and anywhere you need a photo to help with illustration and design.
  • Free Photographs Network
    An online resource for royalty-free stock photographs for non-commercial use.
  • Google LIFE Photo Archive
    Images with copyright restrictions will have a note on the actual image.
  • JSC Digital Image Collection
    NASA press release photos that span the American manned space program.
  • Library of Congress Collection
    Produced by the Library of Congress and mostly free. Be sure to check the copyright statement before using.
  • Photl.com
    Photo laboratory Photl.com presents you a fantastic collection of free photo images.
  • Photos Free Stock Pictures
    Large collection of high resolution stock photos.
  • Pics4Learning
    Thousands of copyright friendly images donated for students and teachers to use.
  • Public Domain Images
    Royalty free stock photos,copyright friendly free images. All pictures on this site are explicitly placed in the public domain, free for any personal or commercial use.
  • The Morgue File
    Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
    A searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video and that are in the public domain.
  • Wikimedia Commons
    A database of media files to which anyone can contribute.
 

A Fair(y) Use Tale

Professor Eric Faden of Bucknell University created this humorous, yet informative, review of copyright law.

 

Images/Photos

Someone owns the copyright to every image or photo unless it's been placed in public domain or the copyright has run out (in most cases 75 years after the copyright holder's death).  However, under fair use, students may use images and photos for educational purposes.  This means you can add images and photos to multimedia projects, reports, or any educational application.  Some guidelines to follow are:

  • An image or photo may be used in its entirety
  • No more than 5 images from a single artist's or photographer's work
  • No more than 10% or 15 images from a single collection, whichever is less
  • Can make alterations if it supports an instructional objective (note that a change was made)
  • Always credit sources

Students may not publish images or photos without permission from the author.  This includes school newspapers, posters, yearbooks, brochures, etc.  They also can not use them on a school or personal web site.

For more information:

Borrowing Images from the Web

Web Design:  Using Images Online in a Copyright-crazy Society

The Basics:  Copyright and Images

 

 

Video

As with images and photos, videos can be used, for educational purposes, in a multimedia project.  You can copy up to 10% or 3 minutes, whichever is less.  You can also make alterations if they support an instructional objective (note that changes were made).  Always credit your sources.

Copying an entire copyrighted video is a violation even if it's for personal use, because it is copying to avoid purchase.

For more information check the following web sites:

Videos and Copyright - Public Performance Rights for Library Materials

You Tube Copyright Tips

 

Discovery Education Streaming

Discovery Education Streaming offers videos and video clips for educational use. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip