This is the "MPS Databases" page of the "Copyright Simplified for Students and Teachers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Copyright Simplified for Students and Teachers   Tags: copyright, copyright_simplified, copyright_students, copyright_teachers  

This guide will give students and teachers copyright information and guidelines for research and Internet publication.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/copyrightsimplified Print Guide RSS Updates

MPS Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Databases

Mesa Public Schools provides teachers and students access to several online databases.  The licenses for each of these databases have specific guidelines for what you can use and how you can use it.  On the right, these databases are listed with a brief summary of their guidelines for use.  In most cases, they also provide the citation for their information.  If you are still unsure how you can use the information, please look up the copyright for the individual database.

These databases can be found on the MPS Library Resource Centers site.  To use them from home, you are required to log in.  You can get the user name and password from your teacher or Library Resource Specialist.

 

MPS Databases General Guidellines

Images

In general students:

  • can print copies of images for reports, term papers, class handouts and research
  • can use images in multimedia presentations, overhead transparencies, and slide shows
  • can not use images to publish in newspapers, magazines, brochures, catalogs, commercial announcements, calendars, posters, yearbooks, playbills, newsletters, t-shirts, promotional items, or for commercial use or gain of any kind

Information

In general students:

  • can download, print, email limited copies for personal, non-commercial use
  • should put information in own words or use quotation marks
  • use should be educational and/or personal
  • should not delete or make changes to the content
  • should retain/display source of information and copyright/trademark
  • should properly cite source
  • can use information in PowerPoint or similar presentations
  • should link to homepage
  • should ask permission if material is to be distributed over the Internet or Intranet
 

MPS Databases

ABC Clio:

ABC-CLIO will permit you to download the content contained on this web site on any single computer and/or make a single print copy of the content for your own personal noncommercial use provided you retain all copyright and other proprietary notices.  You are not permitted to republish, post, transmit or in any way distribute ABC-CLIO content including the copying of the content and posting it on your web site or a third-party web site without the written permission of ABC-CLIO.

EBSCO:

Authorized Users may download or print limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof provided the information is used solely in accordance with copyright law.  Users may not publish the information.  Users shall not use the Database or Services as a component of any other publication prepared for sale.

Encyclopedia Britannica:

You may display, reproduce, print or download content on the Services only for your personal, non-commercial use. If you are a teacher, scholar or student, you may copy reasonable portions of the content for lesson plans, interactive whiteboards, reports, dissertations, presentations, school newspapers and for similar nonprofit educational purposes to the extent permitted by applicable law. In each case, however, you may not remove or alter any copyright, trademark, service mark or other proprietary notices or legends. You may not publish, distribute, retransmit, sell or provide access to the content on the Services, except as permitted under applicable law or as described in these Terms of Use.

Facts on File:

Facts On File grants the authorized user permission to download content contained on this web site for their own personal noncommercial use. Each authorized user is allowed a single print copy of the content, provided all copyright agreements are met.

Gale (Global Issues):

Users may make a single print, non-electronic copy of a permitted portion of the content for personal, non-commercial, educational purposes only. Except as expressly provided for in the foregoing sentence, you may not modify, publish, transmit (including, but not limited to, by way of e-mail, facsimile or other electronic means), display, participate in the transfer or sale of, create derivative works based on, or in any other way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part without the prior written consent of Gale and (if applicable) its licensor.

Associated Press text, photo, graphic, audio, and/or video material shall not be published, broadcast, rewritten for broadcast or publication or redistributed directly or indirectly in any medium. Neither these AP materials nor any portion thereof may be stored in a computer except for personal and non-commercial use.

Pro Quest (CultureGrams):

  • Print/Copy privileges: Online Database subscribers may print and/or copy all CultureGrams material for personal use or for use by other Online Database subscribers. Printing and/or copying CultureGrams materials for use by non-subscribers is prohibited.
  • Copyright policy: You may not, without explicit written permission, republish or redistribute CultureGrams content in any electronic or print form, for commercial or non-commercial use, including web sites, blogs, magazines, newspaper articles, journals, books, etc. There are only two exceptions to this copyright policy:
    1. Small excerpts of CultureGrams written content (less than one category) may be used in scholarly/academic reports and publications.
    2. CultureGrams subscribers may (and are encouraged to) use photos, videos, and other CultureGrams media for educational purposes, such as reports, class presentations, and other assignments. These may be posted on secure, password-protected school intranets but not on the open web.
    In both cases, all CultureGrams content should be appropriately cited using our copyright notification.
  • Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip