Under School Resources: resources for young arizonas, teacher resourses, ebsco, book collection, point of view reference center, student research center and so much more. . .
- Best of History Websites
Best of History Web Sites contains links to over 1200 history-related web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness. Included are links to K-12 history lesson plans, teacher guides, activities, games, quizzes, and more. Sites with engaging educational content and stimulating and useful multimedia technologies are most likely to be included in these pages. However, useful general resources and research-oriented sites have been included as well.
- C-SPAN Video Library
The archives, at C-SpanVideo.org, cover 23 years of history and five presidential administrations and are sure to provide new fodder for pundits and politicians alike. Provides free online access to the more than 160,000 hours of C-Span footage .
- EL Civics for ESL Students
Learn EL Civics with great pictures and easy words. Just click on a picture to start a lesson or activity. The following EL Civics units are now available: Statue of Liberty, Washington, D.C., American Bald Eagle, Gateway Arch, and more. English Language Civics provides an easy way to learn about American history, geography, and culture. New lessons, worksheets, PowerPoint presentations, and videos are added to elcivics.com almost every week.
- Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
FREE makes it easier to find teaching and learning resources from the federal government. More than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies. New sites are added regularly.
- Food Timeline
Ever wonder what foods the Vikings ate when they set off to explore the new world? How Thomas Jefferson made his ice cream? What the pioneers cooked along the Oregon Trail? Who invented the potato chip...and why?
Welcome to the Food Timeline! Food history presents a fascinating buffet of popular lore and contradictory facts. Some people will tell you it's impossible to express this topic in exact timeline format. They are correct. Most foods we eat are not invented; they evolve.
- Gilder Lehrman Teacher Resources
The Gilder Lehrman Institute offers a growing variety of resources to assist teachers and students. The Institute has pioneered new models of history schools and programs, with proven success in improving academic achievement. It offers professional development opportunities for educators, provides documents and exercises for classroom use, and encourages excellence in student writing with essay prizes.
- Internet Global History Sourcebook
The Global History Sourcebook is dedicated to exploration of interaction between world cultures. It does not, then, look "world history" as the history of the various separate cultures, but at ways in which the "world" has a history in its own right.
- Library of Congress: The Teachers' Page
Ready-to-use materials that bring the Library’s primary sources into the classroom.
- National Archives - Document Analysis Worksheets
Teaching with primary documents encourages a varied learning environment for teachers and students alike. Lectures, demonstrations, analysis of documents, independent research, and group work become a gateway for research with historical records in ways that sharpen students' skills and enthusiasm for history, social studies, and the humanities.
- National Archives - Teaching with Documents
This section contains reproducible copies of primary documents from the holdings of the National Archives of the United States, teaching activities correlated to the National History Standards and National Standards for Civics and Government, and cross-curricular connections
- National Gallery of Art
Welcome to a place where teachers and students can connect art and curriculum.
Connect art and curriculum by borrowing free learning materials from the National Gallery of Art's Division of Education.
- National Geographic Kids - Videos
- National Geographic Xpeditions - Maps and Current Events
This lesson will help students realize the value of maps in illustrating important news topics other than weather forecasts. They'll brainstorm geographic questions for specific news stories and use an atlas along with National Geographic's MapMachine to help them find answers to these questions. They'll conclude by creating "map packages" to accompany additional news stories, including at least five maps that illustrate points and background information related to the story.
- Old Magazine Articles
It is a primary source website and is designed to serve as a reference for students, educators, authors, researchers, dabblers, dilettantes, hacks and the merely curious. The old articles, essays, poetry, cartoons and photographs that can be found on the site have all been collected from a number of different libraries, bookshops and yard sales throughout the United States and Europe.
- Scholastic: Technology Tools, Organizers, & Templates
Features: Graphic Organizers, Rubric Maker, Flash Card Maker and Much More
- Smithsonian Education Lesson Plans
Browse lesson plans by subject area or search by grade levels and keywords. Smithsonian lesson plans emphasize inquiry-based learning using primary sources and museum collections. Each plan is print-friendly and provides you with all the materials you need—photographs, reproductions, handouts, activities, suggested strategies, standards information, and additional online resources.
- Smithsonian Education Resource Library Search
Use the search fields below to access more than 1,500 rich Smithsonian educational resources.
- Teacher's Aids: World History and Geography
Classroom-tested lesson plans, activities, and management aids
- World History for All
World History for Us All is a powerful, innovative model curriculum for teaching world history in middle and high schools. World History for Us All is a national collaboration of K-12 teachers, collegiate instructors, and educational technology specialists.
- World History for Us All Video
- World History Matters
World History Matters is a portal to world history websites developed by the Center for History and New Media.
- World History Sources
World History teachers face many challenges to incorporating primary sources in their teaching. World History Sources responds to these challenges by creating a website to help world history teachers and students locate, analyze, and learn from online primary sources and to further their understanding of the complex nature of world history.
- World History: Hyperhistory
Over 2000 files covering 3000 years of world history