Dewey Decimal System
This is the "Library & Online Data Base Links" page of the "Mesa Academy of Advanced Studies Resource Center Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mesa Academy of Advanced Studies Resource Center Information   Tags: garrison, maas, maas resource center, maas resource center information  

Last Updated: Aug 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mpsaz.net/maasresourcecenterinformation Print Guide RSS Updates

Library & Online Data Base Links Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Computer Lab

We have thirty Lenovo laptops and nine Dell stand alone computers.These are available for research and word processing. The Library Resource page has data base research information as well as the Academy's book catalog. The home page for the Academy has short cuts to research sites with information to facilitate any research project.

 

What is a LibGuide?

LibGuides:  A 21st Century Research Tool

  • LibGuides is a web 2.0 content management sharing system.
  • Libraries use it to create attractive multimedia content, share knowledge and information, and promote library resources to the community.
  • Teachers find LibGuides an ideal solution for subject guides, information portals, course guides, community guides, research help, faculty/teacher support, etc.

(Springshare,  http://www.springshare.com/libguides/index.html

 

Researching with books

Books

Books cover virtually any topic, fact or fiction. For research purposes, you will probably be looking for books that synthesize all the information on one topic.

A few books are now available electronically on the Internet (e-books) and are purchased by your library.

Use a Book

  • when looking for a lot of information on a topic
  • to put your topic in context with other important issues
  • to find historical information
  • to find summaries of research to support an argument

 

 

Library Information

The Mesa Academy library is truly a resource center for both students and teachers.  Teachers are encouraged to sign up to use the Media Center for research.  The technology and the trained staff are resources that support your curriculum and the common core standards.  Please remember that the librarian is willing to help you with any project or assignment.  If we don't know the answer, we will find someone who does! 

Students are allowed to check out two books at a time for two weeks.

Please renew your books after two weeks, if you should need it longer. 

There is no food or beverage allowed in the library, except for water.

For more help away from school, become familiar with the Mesa Public Schools Library Resource Center website.  You will find the answers to many of your questions there.   You'll be able to link to the Destiny catalog and on-line databases from there, as well. 

The library is open from 7:30 am to 4:00 pm
Click here

Online Research

  • Facts on File  
      
    Research database for Science
    Science encyclopedia
    Glossary
    Curriculum tools-students and educators
  • Culture Grams  
      
    State Edition
    World Edition
    Kids Editions
    Provinces Edition
  • EBSCO
    An Article Database
    Article databases (also called periodical databases) include the citations, abstracts or brief summaries, and full text of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. An example of an article database that is available through the Library Resource website is EBSCO.
  • Britannica
    On-line research encyclopedia
    Mirriam-Webster Dictionary
    World Atlas
    Teacher Resources
  • Facts on File  
      
    Facts on File
    American History
    Biographies
    Events and Topics
  • Gale
    World Maps
    History
    Issues & Topics
  • ABC-CLIO
    American History
    Eras
    Analyze
    Advanced Search
  • Learn360
    Live Training
    Helpful Articles
    Video Tutorials
    Self-Help Tools
 

E-Books

E-Books for research

 

Keep Reading

Mesa Academy of Advanced Studies

Profile Image
Linda Garrison
Contact Info
Mesa Academy of Advanced Studies
6919 E. Brown Rd.
Mesa, Az. 85207
Send Email

Dewey Decimal System

An overview of the Dewey Decimal system:

000 - Generalities
100 - Philosophy and Psychology
200 - Religion
300 - Social Sciences
400 - Language
500 - Natural Sciences and Mathematics
600 - Technology (Including Applied Sciences)
700 - The Arts (Including Sports)
800 - Literature and Rhetoric
900 - Geography and History (Including Biography)

 

Book Lists

 Book Lists

 

   http://www.teenreads.com/

  http://info.infosoup.org/lists/ClassicsForTeens.asp

 

   Childrens Literature and book suggestions

 

  http://en.childrenslibrary.org/

 

Library Rules

 

 

Library Rules

No electronic devices.

Keep food and drinks outside of the library.

Quiet voices only – be considerate of others using the library. 

Be productive – read, research, do homework, checkout a book, etc.

Be responsible.

Be respectful.

 

Citation Tools

 

  • NoodleTools  
      
    NoodleTools provides innovative software that teaches students and supports teachers and librarians throughout the entire research process.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip